NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog National Institute for transforming India Aayog came into existence on 1st January 2015 policy making think tank of government that replaced planning commission and aims to involve states in economic policy making It will be providing strategic and Technical advice to the central and state government

Image NITI Aayog

Objective of NITI Aayog

The NITI Aayog aims to the following objective and opportunities

  • An administrative paradigm in which the government is an “enabler” rather than “providing of first and last resort”
  • Progress from “food security” to focus on a mix of agriculture production, as well as actual returns that Farmers get from their produce. Ensure that India is an active player in the debates and deliberations on the Global Commons. Ensure that the economic vibrant middle-class remains engaged, and its potential is fully realised.
  • Leverage India’s pool of entrepreneurial, scientific and intellectual human capital.Incorporate the significant geo-economic and geopolitical strength of the Non-Resident Indian community. Use urbanisation as an Opportunity to create a wholesome and secure habitat through the use of modern technology. Use technology to reduce opacity and potential for misadventures in governance.

Structure under NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog will be headed by Prime Minister and will have Governing Council, comprising Chief Minister of state and Head of all Union Territories. The governing council replaces the earlier and National Development Council. In addition, there will also be a regional Council comprising of Chief Minister and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories, which will be mandated to develop plans that are region specific. The Aayog will have 7-8 full-time members and two well- known and accomplished part-time member, drawn from leading Research Organisation and major universities for Union Ministers nominated by the Prime Minister, will also be included in ex-officio capacity.

On the Prime Minister's inventions, specialists across domains, will be invited to share knowledge and add values to the planning process, making extensive use of technology in developing sustainable plans and programme implementation.

The Prime Minister shall appoint full-time Chief executive officer with the fixed and may sanction a dedicated secretariat, if deemed necessary. Members of NITI Aayog

The various members of NITI Ayog are

  • Chairman Prime Minister Narendra Modi
  • Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya
  • Ex-officio Member Rajnath Singh Arun Jaitley Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh
  • Special Invitees Nitin Gadkari Smriti Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot
  • Full Time Members Bibek Debroy and VK Saraswat
  • Governing Council all state Chief Minister and Lt governors
  • CEO Sindhushree Khullar